German Book Prize 2007: Judges nominate the novels for the longlist

The panel of judges has decided on its first selection for the German Book Prize 2007. “Without allowing ourselves to be seduced by celebrity or distracted by the pressure of originality, we have chosen twenty titles that reflect the unusual diversity and vitality in German-language literature as it presents itself this autumn in particular”, says the spokesman for the judges, Felicitas von Lovenberg. “Whether in dealing with German history, topical social issues or literary historical material, the themes have seldom been as wide-ranging as this, and the authors take them on with very different narrative approaches.” Over the last five months, the seven judges have looked through a total of 117 titles, either published or scheduled for publication between 1 October 2006 and 12 September 2007.

The nominated novels (in alphabetical order):

• Thommie Bayer: Eine kurze Geschichte vom Glück (Piper, August 2007)

• Larissa Boehning: Lichte Stoffe (Eichborn Berlin, August 2007)

• Julia Franck: Die Mittagsfrau (S. Fischer, September 2007)

• Thomas Glavinic: Das bin doch ich (Hanser, August 2007)

• Lena Gorelik: Hochzeit in Jerusalem (SchirmerGraf, March 2007)

• Sabine Gruber: Über Nacht (C.H. Beck, January 2007)

• Peter Henisch: Eine sehr kleine Frau (Deuticke, August 2007)

• Michael Köhlmeier: Abendland (Hanser, August 2007)

• Katja Lange-Müller: Böse Schafe (Kiepenheuer & Witsch, August 2007)

• Michael Lentz: Pazifik Exil (S. Fischer, August 2007)

• Harald Martenstein: Heimweg (C. Bertelsmann, February 2007)

• Pierangelo Maset: Laura oder die Tücken der Kunst (kookbooks, September 2007)

• Robert Menasse: Don Juan de la Mancha (Suhrkamp, August 2007)

• Martin Mosebach: Der Mond und das Mädchen (Hanser, August 2007)

• Mathias Nolte: Roula Rouge (Deuticke, March 2007)

• Gregor Sander: abwesend (Wallstein, March 2007)

• Arnold Stadler: Komm, gehen wir (S. Fischer, May2007)

• Peter Truschner: Die Träumer (Zsolnay, March 2007)

• John von Düffel: Beste Jahre (DuMont, August 2007)

• Thomas von Steinaecker: Wallner beginnt zu fliegen (FVA, February 2007)

“It is thanks to the high quality of the novels that were up for discussion that lesser known names, especially first-timers, are on the longlist alongside well-known authors” says Felicitas von Lovenberg. Together with von Lovenberg (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung), the judges for the German Book Prize 2007 are Christian Döring (editor and critic), Karl-Markus Gauss (author and editor of the magazine “Literatur & Kritik”), Ijoma Mangold (Süddeutsche Zeitung), Rudolf Müller (Müller & Böhm, Literaturhandlung im Heine Haus), Mathias Schreiber (Der SPIEGEL) and Hajo Steinert (Deutschlandfunk).

In the next stage, the judges will select six titles from the longlist for the shortlist which is due to be announced on 12 September 2007. It is not until the evening of the prize presentation itself that the six authors find out which of them has been awarded the German Book Prize. The winner receives prize money of 25,000 euros, with the five other finalists each receiving 2,500 euros. The German Publishers & Booksellers Association – Börsenverein – presents the German Book Prize 2007 to the best German-language novel of the year. The prize presentation takes place in the Kaisersaal at Frankfurt’s Römer on 8 October 2007, just before the start of the Frankfurt Book Fair.

Partners for the German Book Prize are Florian and Gabriele Langenscheidt, SPIEGEL-Verlag, the Frankfurt Book Fair and Frankfurt City. Deutsche Welle supports the German Book Prize primarily with media publicity in other countries. Radio stations Deutschlandfunk and Deutschlandradio Kultur broadcast the prize presentation live as part of documentary and debate programmes on LW 153 and 177 kHz and on MW 990 and 855 kHz, as well as on digital satellite radio DVB-S, Bouquet and on livestream on the internet at

Further information, judges’ statements and a photo of the judges are available at

Frankfurt am Main, 15 August 2007

Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels e.V. Claudia Paul Press & Information Director Phone: +49 69 1306-293; E-mail:




Deutscher Buchpreis
c/o Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels
Susanne Hilf
Großer Hirschgraben 17-21
60311 Frankfurt am Main
Phone: +49(0)69 / 1306 334
Telefax: +49(0)69 / 1306 294

English Samples of the shortlisted novels

For exclusive sample translations and background information on the shortlisted authors and novels go to:


Press Commentaries 2006

German Book Prize 2006: Press Commentaries

Premio Alemán del Libro.42784.pdf (application/pdf 18.9 KB)





© 2014 Deutscher Buchpreis | Privacy Protection | Print Version