The German Book Prize

The German Book Prize is presented to the best German-language novel just before the start of the Frankfurt Book Fair as an annual award from the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels Stifung – the Foundation of the German Publishers & Booksellers Association. The Prize is intended to draw attention beyond national borders to authors writing in German, to reading and to the keynote medium of the book.

Publishing companies in Germany, Austria and Switzerland can apply for the award by direct nomination of their titles. Unusually, titles still in production when applications are first invited can also be included in the selection process. Furthermore, the German Book Prize represents the guarantee of independent and competent prize judgement: the seven jurors will personally assess all the books that are submitted and that meet the criteria for consideration.

To ensure the greatest possible independence and transparency for the choice of award-winner, the Börsenverein board has appointed the German Book Prize Academy with representatives of the book and media industry. Their most important task is the selection every year of the jury members who will choose the winner over the course of several selection stages. Organised by the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels, the German Book Prize is also backed by partners from outside the industry. The partners of the Book Prize are: Paschen & Companie, the Foundation of the Frankfurter Sparkasse, the Frankfurt Book Fair and the City of Frankfurt am Main.

Shortlist canidates clip

Shortlist canidates clipThe authors of the shortlist

Candidates clip



English samples of the shortlisted novels

For exclusive sample translations and background information on the shortlisted authors and novels go to:



Deutscher Buchpreis
c/o Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels
Großer Hirschgraben 17-21
60311 Frankfurt am Main

Susanne Hilf
Phone: +49 (0)69 / 1306 334
Fax: +49 (0)69 / 1306 435

Philippe Genêt
Phone: +48 (0)69 / 1306 391
Fax: +49 (0)69 / 1306 435



© 2014 Deutscher Buchpreis | Privacy Protection | Print Version