Back to overview

The six finalists

The six finalists

The jury has selected six novels for the shortlist of the German Book Prize 2016.

“From silence to violence: the novels on this year’s shortlist cover a broad spectrum of content, yet what they all share is a solid down-to-earthness, a direct connection to observed reality. Through tough, contentious discussions, we struggled to choose the six authors for the shortlist. But now we are confident that our shortlist represents a selection of titles that reflect not just the undeniable quality of this year’s books but also different approaches to the world and ways of describing it”, said independent critic Christoph Schröder, jury spokesman for the German Book Prize 2016.

Since the submission process began, the seven members of the jury have reviewed 178 titles published between October 2015 and 20 September 2016.

The nominated novels are:

  • Reinhard Kaiser-Mühlecker: Fremde Seele, dunkler Wald (S. Fischer, August 2016)
  • Bodo Kirchhoff: Widerfahrnis (Frankfurter Verlagsanstalt, September 2016)
  • André Kubiczek: Skizze eines Sommers (Rowohlt Berlin, May 2016)
  • Thomas Melle: Die Welt im Rücken (Rowohlt Berlin, August 2016)
  • Eva Schmidt: Ein langes Jahr (Jung und Jung, February 2016)
  • Philipp Winkler: Hool (Aufbau, September 2016)

For more information on the novels including a jury commentary see Shortlist

Download information and images

The six finalists




Photos from the Frankfurt Book Fair


Bodo Kirchhoff wins the German Book Prize 2016


Live stream of the award ceremony


Films: These are the finalists


Experience the German Book Prize 2016 at the Book Fair 2016

Press contact

Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels e.V.

Thomas Koch
Press Officer
Phone +49 (0) 69 1306-292