Back to overview

German Book Prize 2017: New jury, new academy members

German Book Prize 2017: New jury, new academy members

© Monique Wüstenhagen

Seven literary experts will decide which novel receives the German Book Prize 2017. The German Book Prize Academy has appointed Silke Behl (Radio Bremen), Mara Delius (Die Welt), Christian Dunker (autorenbuchhandlung berlin), Katja Gasser (Österreichischer Rundfunk), Maria Gazzetti (Casa di Goethe), Tobias Lehmkuhl (independent critic) and Lothar Schröder (Rheinische Post) as members of this year’s jury.

“Books promote understanding in turbulent times. Literature brings people together. Novels teach us to understand our counterparts. Stories promote empathy. In its 13th year, the German Book Prize will once again encourage the general public to grapple with new novels. The seven members of our jury will help us with their selection. I am already looking forward to seeing what their choices will be”, says Heinrich Riethmüller, president of the Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels and chairman of the German Book Prize Academy.

New academy members

The German Book Prize Academy is composed of representatives of the book and media industries. New members this year are: Nico Bleutge (winner of the Alfred Kerr Prize for literary criticism), Dr Siv Bublitz (vice-president of the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels), Benedikt Föger (president of the Hauptverband des Österreichischen Buchhandels), Dr Kristina Hasenpflug (managing director of the Deutsche Bank Foundation), Rudolf Müller (managing director of the Müller & Böhm bookstore in the Heine Haus, Düsseldorf) and Andreas Rötzer (member of the spokespersons for IG Belletristik und Sachbuch).

Together with Juergen Boos (director of the Frankfurt Book Fair), Prof Monika Grütters (member of the German Bundestag, Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media), Prof Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (president of the Goethe-Institut), Michael Münch (deputy chairman of the Deutsche Bank Foundation) and Heinrich Riethmüller (academy chairman, president of the Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels) select a new jury every year to ensure the greatest level of independence for the award.

German Book Prize 2017: New jury, new academy members

© Monique Wüstenhagen



Robert Menasse wins the German Book Prize 2017


Live broadcast of the award ceremony


German Book Prize: the Shortlist in English


Clear the stage for the German Book Prize 2017: : Events at the Frankfurter Buchmesse


Six novels in the final round

Press contact

Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels e.V.

Thomas Koch
Director Press and Public Relations
Phone +49 (0) 69 1306-293

Cathrin Mund
PR Manager
Phone +49 (0) 69 1306-292