Back to overview

Publishers may submit their titles

Publishers may submit their titles

Starting now, publishers may nominate their candidates for the German Book Prize 2019 at

Between now and 27 March 2019, they may submit two German-language novels each – and recommend up to five additional titles – from their current or forthcoming lists. Applicants must be members of the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels or of the Swiss or Austrian equivalents, the Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verleger-Verband and the Hauptverband des Österreichischen Buchhandels. The books must be published between 1 October 2018 and 17 September 2019 (when the shortlist will be announced). The books themselves, reading copies, e-books or galley proofs may be submitted until 14 June 2019.

The novel of the year will be selected through a multiple-stage process. First, the jury will review all of the novels submitted by the publishers and compile a longlist of 20 titles, which will be announced on 20 August 2019. From this list, the jurors will then select six titles for the shortlist, which will be published on 17 September 2019. These six authors will only find out which of them has won the German Book Prize on the evening of the award ceremony.

The ceremony will take place in Frankfurt on 14 October 2019, to coincide with the start of the Frankfurter Buchmesse. The winner will receive 25,000 euros, the five finalists 2,500 euros each. Inger-Maria Mahlke won the German Book Prize 2018 for her novel "Archipel" ("Archipelago").

The German Book Prize is awarded by the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels Stiftung – the Foundation of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association. It receives funding from the Deutsche Bank Foundation, and additional partners include the Frankfurter Buchmesse and the city of Frankfurt am Main. The television network Deutsche Welle supports the German Book Prize in its media activities both at home and abroad.

Further information about the German Book Prize can be found here.

Publishers may submit their titles




More submissions and participating publishers than ever before


The jury members have been nominated


Starting signal for publishers


Saša Stanišić receives German Book Prize 2019 for “Herkunft” (“Origins”)


Filmic portraits of the finalists

Press contact

Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels e.V.

Thomas Koch
Director Press and Public Relations
Phone +49 (0) 69 1306-293

Cathrin Mund
PR Manager
Phone +49 (0) 69 1306-292