Back to overview

The jury has been selected

The jury has been selected

The jury for the German Book Prize 2018 has been chosen. The Akademie Deutscher Buchpreis (German Book Prize Academy) has appointed the following literature experts to the jury:

  • Christoph Bartmann, director of the Goethe-Institut Warsaw, literary critic and author, member of the jury for the German Book Prize 2008
  • Luzia Braun, ZDF, acting director of “aspekte”, editorial manager of “Das literarische Quartett”
  • Tanja Graf, director of the Literaturhaus München (Munich House of Literature), previously publisher at Schirmer Graf Verlag and Graf Verlag, an imprint of Ullstein
  • Paul Jandl, independent critic for Die Welt and Neue Zürcher Zeitung, amongst others; member of the jury for the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize from 2009 to 2013
  • Uwe Kalkowski, author of the literary blog “Kaffeehaussitzer”, “Book Prize Blogger” in 2015 and winner of the Book Blog Award 2017
  • Christine Lötscher, independent critic, member of the team of critics on “Literaturclub” (Swiss television) until 2016, member of the jury for the Swiss Book Prize 2011-2013
  • Marianne Sax, owner of the “Bücherladen Marianne Sax” bookshop (Frauenfeld), president of the Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verleger Verband (Swiss Booksellers and Publishers Association) until 2016, programme director of the Thurgauer Literaturhaus (Thurgau House of Literature)

The members of the jury will decide who receives the German Book Prize 2018. To ensure the greatest level of independence for the award, the German Book Prize Academy selects a new jury every year. It is possible to be a member of the jury more than once. This year’s juror Christoph Bartmann was already a member of the jury for the German Book Prize in 2008.

"Literature can spur debate, it makes people question things, irritates and shakes things up; its wealth of perspectives widens our view to include the previously unconsidered and unsuspected. Literature contributes significantly to a free and democratic discussion. This makes it all the more important to bring new literature into the conversation and to introduce its themes to society. I already look forward to the jury’s selection and to a wide variety of exciting discussions", says Heinrich Riethmüller, president of the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels (German Publishers and Booksellers Association) and chairman of the German Book Prize Academy.

The jury has been selected



Publishers submit 173 titles


The jury has been selected


Publishers may submit their titles


Inger-Maria Mahlke receives the German Book Prize 2018 for her novel “Archipel” (“Archipelago”)


Experience the award ceremony live

Press contact

Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels e.V.

Thomas Koch
Director Press and Public Relations
Phone +49 (0) 69 1306-293

Cathrin Mund
PR Manager
Phone +49 (0) 69 1306-292