Back to overview

The nominees 2020 have been chosen

The nominees 2020 have been chosen

The jury for the German Book Prize 2020 has chosen 20 novels for the longlist. Since the call for submissions went out, the seven members of the jury have reviewed 206 titles published – or yet to be published – between October 2019 and 15 September 2020, when the shortlist will be announced.

Jury spokeswoman Hanna Engelmeier, Kulturwissenschaftliches Institut Essen (Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities) and author released the following statement: “Unlike reading the news in recent months, exploring the more than 200 titles submitted offered many glimmers of hope. The jury was presented with a panorama of novels of a predominantly realistic bent. A particularly significant number of them make use of (auto)biographical narration, and titles that deal with historical themes are also strongly represented. The longlist reflects these focal points, but also includes novels dedicated to more recent debates on identity politics. We are pleased that there are also books that break up and experiment with the novelistic form. The longlist thus represents not only a diverse range of themes but also this season’s range of poetic forms of expression.”

The nominated novels (in alphabetical order) are: 

  • Helena Adler, Die Infantin trägt den Scheitel links (Jung und Jung, February 2020)
  • Birgit Birnbacher, Ich an meiner Seite (Paul Zsolnay, March 2020)
  • Bov Bjerg, Serpentinen (Claassen, January 2020)
  • Arno Camenisch, Goldene Jahre (Engeler, May 2020)
  • Roman Ehrlich, Malé (S. Fischer, September 2020)
  • Dorothee Elmiger, Aus der Zuckerfabrik (Carl Hanser, August 2020)
  • Valerie Fritsch, Herzklappen von Johnson & Johnson (Suhrkamp, February 2020)
  • Thomas Hettche, Herzfaden (Kiepenheuer & Witsch, September 2020)
  • Charles Lewinsky, Der Halbbart (Diogenes, August 2020)
  • Deniz Ohde, Streulicht (Suhrkamp, August 2020)
  • Leif Randt, Allegro Pastell (Kiepenheuer & Witsch, March 2020)
  • Stephan Roiss, Triceratops (Kremayr & Scheriau, August 2020)
  • Robert Seethaler, Der letzte Satz (Hanser Berlin, August 2020)
  • Eva Sichelschmidt, Bis wieder einer weint (Rowohlt Hundert Augen, January 2020)
  • Anne Weber, Annette, ein Heldinnenepos (Matthes & Seitz Berlin, February 2020)
  • Olivia Wenzel, 1000 Serpentinen Angst (S. Fischer, March 2020)
  • Frank Witzel, Inniger Schiffbruch (Matthes & Seitz Berlin, February 2020)
  • Iris Wolff, Die Unschärfe der Welt (Klett-Cotta, August 2020)
  • Jens Wonneberger, Mission Pflaumenbaum (Müry Salzmann, October 2019)
  • Christine Wunnicke, Die Dame mit der bemalten Hand (Berenberg, August 2020)

More Information: 

The nominees 2020 have been chosen



Six books selected as finalists


20 titles nominated


Submissions at an all-time high


Starting signal for publishers


The jury members have been nominated