Back to overview

Publishers may submit titles

Publishers may submit titles

Starting now, publishers can submit titles for the German Book Prize 2024 at Until 20 March 2024, they may each submit two German-language novels – and recommend up to five additional titles – from their current or forthcoming lists. To participate, applicants must be members of the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels (German Publishers and Booksellers Association), or of the Swiss or Austrian equivalents, the Schweizer Buchhandel- und Verlags-Verband and the Hauptverband des Österreichischen Buchhandels. The books must be published between 1 October 2023 and 17 September 2024, when the shortlist will be announced. Books, reading copies, e-books or galley proofs may be submitted until 14 June 2024.

The novel of the year is selected through a multi-stage process. First, the jury reviews all the novels submitted by publishers and compiles a longlist of 20 titles, which will be announced on 20 August 2024. From this list, the jury members select six titles for the shortlist, which will be released on 17 September 2024. These six authors will only find out who among them has won the German Book Prize on the evening of the award ceremony itself. The winner will receive 25,000 euros in prize money; the five finalists 2,500 euros each. Tonio Schachinger won the German Book Prize 2023 for his novel “Echtzeitalter”.

For more information on the German Book Prize or this year's jury, please follow the links.

Publishers may submit titles



106 publishers submit 180 novels

Publishers may submit titles

The jury members have been nominated

Tonio Schachinger receives the German Book Prize 2023

Films: These are the finalists