Back to overview

Six novels chosen as finalists

Six novels chosen as finalists

© Christof Jakob

The jury has selected the following six novels for the shortlist of the German Book Prize 2023:

  • Terézia Mora: Muna oder Die Hälfte des Lebens (Luchterhand Literaturverlag, August 2023)
  • Necati Öziri: Vatermal (claassen, July 2023)
  • Anne Rabe: Die Möglichkeit von Glück (Klett-Cotta, March 2023)
  • Tonio Schachinger: Echtzeitalter (Rowohlt Verlag, March 2023)
  • Sylvie Schenk: Maman (Carl Hanser Verlag, February 2023)
  • Ulrike Sterblich: Drifter (Rowohlt Hundert Augen, July 2023)

Regarding this selection, jury spokesperson Katharina Teutsch (independent critic) says: “Six novels that, at first glance, have nothing to do with each other. They are set in different times, describe different milieus in different countries, and each one finds the most convincing means of expressing its respective world. But if you put these six novels side by side, they inevitably enter into a conversation with each other. This conversation is about the things that shape us: about our upbringings and social origins, political ideologies, dramatic changes in governing systems, and the hardships of migration – in other words, about everything that makes up our present and challenges it. The shortlisted authors write about it with such acuity, as well as wit and warmth, that reading these books leaves us asking ourselves not only where we come from, but also where we want to go.”

Since the submission process began, the seven members of the jury have reviewed 196 titles published between October 2022 and 19 September 2023.

The award ceremony will be broadcast live from the Kaisersaal of the Frankfurt Römer on 16 October 2023 to coincide with the start of Frankfurter Buchmesse. Those interested can watch the award ceremony via live stream at

Further information on the titles including jury comments and audio samples can be found on the nominees page, image and information material under downloads.

Six novels chosen as finalists

© Christof Jakob



106 publishers submit 180 novels

Publishers may submit titles

The jury members have been nominated

Tonio Schachinger receives the German Book Prize 2023

Films: These are the finalists