Back to overview

The jury members have been nominated

The jury members have been nominated

The jury for the German Book Prize 2020 has been chosen. The Akademie Deutscher Buchpreis (German Book Prize Academy) has appointed the following seven literature experts to the jury:

  • Katharina Borchardt (literature editor, SWR2)
  • Hanna Engelmeier (research assistant, Kulturwissenschaftliches Institut Essen (Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities) and author)
  • David Hugendick (literature editor, ZEIT ONLINE)
  • Chris Möller (propagator of literature at Kabeljau & Dorsch, Berlin)
  • Maria-Christina Piwowarski (“ocelot” bookstore, Berlin)
  • Felix Stephan (literature editor, Süddeutsche Zeitung)
  • Denise Zumbrunnen (“Never Stop Reading” bookstore, Zurich)

The members of the jury decide who receives the German Book Prize 2020. To ensure the greatest level of independence for the award, the Akademie Deutscher Buchpreis selects a new jury every year. It is possible to serve as a member of the jury more than once.

The jury members have been nominated



More submissions and participating publishers than ever before


The jury members have been nominated


Starting signal for publishers


Saša Stanišić receives German Book Prize 2019 for “Herkunft” (“Origins”)


Filmic portraits of the finalists

Press contact

Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels e.V.

Thomas Koch
Director Press and Public Relations
Phone +49 (0) 69 1306-293

Cathrin Mund
PR Manager
Phone +49 (0) 69 1306-292